Bratz #1

Michelle Ashleigh
9 min readAug 4, 2021

--

Characters:

YASMIN (ME)

My name is Yasmin. I can be a know-it all and I may not be the most popular but I am a friendly person. This is my story.

ERIC

Eric is my good friend. He’s maybe not the brightest at school but despite that he’s still the most gorgeous boy I know.

STACIE

Stacie is my best friend. We have very different personalities. She’s also a little boy crazy even though she does have a boyfriend named Ethan. She wishes she could be more popular but none of those people are nice anyways.

ETHAN

Ethan is dating Stacie my best friend. He tries to act like a young Romeo. He’s also a smooth dancer. He can be bossy and get his way sometimes…but not with me!

KENNY

My friend Kenny is a trouble maker. He’s a punk and owns a motorcycle. Kenny can be flirty but sweet. Kenny is dating Vikki.

VICTORIA/VIKKI

Vikki is popular at school. But she’s also my friend. She can be selfish at times too and uses people. It’s complicated. We used to be close but not since she has her new found popularity. She’s dating Kenny. They haven’t been dating for long, but Kenny knows what he’s gotten himself into.

DYLAN

My twin brother Dylan is pretty laid back. He also thinks he’s cooler than he really is. Sometimes I wish I could be more like him because I’m more of a smarty-pants. Dylan is dating Nikki.

NIKKI

Nikki is very popular at our school. She works in Hollywood and goes to our school. She’s also pretty snooty and not the nicest. I still wonder why my brother tolerates her.

ALICIA

Alicia is a great fried of mine. She’s always got my back. She’s my wing woman. Her and Nikki used to be in a band together before they broke up the band. Nikki was the lead singer and Alicia would sing back up and play guitar while my brother would play drums. There was also some boy drama but you would think they would be mature and move on. There’s still that tension.

MISS. PARADOWSKI (my teacher)

Since her divorce my teacher has been a cranky lady. She’s always been strict but she’s more strict since her new life happened. Eric sometimes acts sassy with her and I try to lighten the mood with Miss. Cranky pants.

In class…

Miss. Paradowski (Teacher): Alright class! We’re going to be doing a play you are all familiar with…

Eric: Um is that Spanish for family?

Miss. P.: Is what Spanish?

Eric: Familiar

Miss P.: *gives him a long stare*

Yasmin (ME): *I shake my head but he’s also so cute*

Me: *I raise my hand*

Miss P.: Yes Yasmin?

Me: He thought “familiar” sounded like “familia” which is “Family” in Spanish…

Miss P.: Alright Yasmin. Very good. Let’s move on

Eric: *turns around & whispers* Hey thanks for the save

Me: *I whisper back* No problem — and pay attention

Eric: RIGHT, sorry *flips his hair*

Stacie: *sitting behind me & whispers to me* He’s so hot

Me: *I whisper back* You’re dating Ethan

Stacie: It’s not serious

Me: *I roll my eyes then get a paper ball thrown at my neck* Hey *I look over at Kenny on my left*

Kenny: *mouths OPEN-IT*

Me: *I give him an annoyed look then open the paper ball. It says “SO BORED”* Very nice *I throw the ball back at him*

Kenny: *laughs*

In the hallway…

*I’m walking in the hall when Vikki calls my name…*

Vikki: Hey so are you like going to the Homecoming Dance tomorrow night?

Me: I don’t know. And why do you care?

Vikki: Just asking, gawd

Me: Okay well my answer is a maybe? That better?

Vikki: Sure *shrugs & walks away*

Eric: *taps my shoulder* Hey. I overheard you and Vikki. You’re maybe going to the dance?

Me: Maybe!

Eric: Okay. Well I wanted to ask you…about the dance —

Girl: *interrupts* Eric, are you walking me to Study Hall? *blinks her eyes at him*

Eric: Oh right. Uh, I’ll talk to you later Yas

Me: Uh, okay! Talk later *I wave sadly at him walking off with the other girl*

Home…

*I do my homework in the living room when the home phone rings. I pick it up…*

Nikki: Hi Yasmin. Is Dylan there?

Me: Oh yeah just hold on one sec *I hang the phone up & she tries to call back but I hang up again*

Dylan: *walks into the room all dazed from a nap* Hey, did the phone just ring?

Me: What? I think you’re hearing ringing noises again in your sleep

Dylan: Huh. Okay. Imma go back to nap-town

Me: You…do that *I shake my head at him*

Friday: Next Morning…

*I yawn really big in my kitchen while waiting for my Mom to finish making breakfast…*

Dylan: Ew, you’re drooling when you do that

Me: Oh really? Well you drool whenever Alicia is around

Dylan: Uuuh, I don’t know what you’re talking about

Mom: *gives us weird looks*

Me: I think you do know

Dylan: Shut up

Mom: Dylan, be nice to your sister

Dylan: She’s not being nice to me!

Me: I’m being truthful not mean! There’s a difference you know

Dylan: Yeah, yeah, yeah smarty-pants

Me: Booger-pants

Mom: ENOUGH

Me: *stick my tongue out at him*

Dylan: *sticks his tongue out at me*

At school in the hallway…

Alicia: Hey, Yas

Me: Hey, morning!

Alicia: Mornin’ girl. Hey did you ask your pretty boy to the dance yet?

Me: NO. But I feel like he was trying to talk to me about it yesterday before this girl pulled him away for Study Hall

Alicia: “STUDY” hall, really? I don’t believe it

Me: When you say it like that it makes more sense

Alicia: If some other girl asks him, don’t come cryin’ to me, girl. I gotta get to class

Me: *sigh* Okay. Talk later *I turn around and knock into Eric* OH! Sorry!

Eric: Ah, it’s okay. I can get another nose

Me: *I blush*

Eric: Hi

Me: Hiiii…

Eric: *puts his hands in his pocket* So did you think about the dance?

Me: Uh well, thought about it. Yes. Confirmed answer? Still a maybe

Eric: Oh wow, it sounds like you’ll have your answer right before the dance starts

*We laugh together*

Eric: Listen about yesterday, I was trying to —

*the bell rings for class…*

Eric: *laughs nervously* I feel like I’m always getting interrupted —

Me: Oh really?

Kenny: *puts his arms around our shoulders* Hey you two, ready for class?

Eric: Not in the slightest, bro

Kenny: That’s the spirit

Me: And no more paper ball notes. They hurt *I poke his side*

Kenny: AH, hey! Alright, fine

Stacie: *walks up behind us* Oh wow you guys are kind of glossily adorable

Me: SO nice of you to join us Stacie

Stacie: Pleasure is mine *winks at Eric*

Eric: *scratches the back of his head uncomfortably*

*We all walk into class*

Miss P.: Alright I know you all have an eventful Homecoming dance tonight. I will do my best not to give you TOO MUCH homework…

*The class moans in unison…*

Miss P.: I can’t promise! Alright let’s start class

At home…

*I’m pacing in my room trying to decide my plans for the evening…*

Mom: *pops her head into my room* So are you going to the dance, Yassy?

Me: I’m actually SO fed up with that question that I WILL go

Mom: Oh I’m sorry honey

Me: No you’re fine mom. I’m the neurotic one

Dylan: *walks over to my room* Got that right. Hey, how do I look?

Mom: You look handsome, hon.

*The doorbell rings…*

Me: *I look out my window* Oh hey, D. Your date’s here — and she’s eating our grass? Looks like she licks too

Mom: Yasmin…respeta your brother

Me: *roll my eyes*

Mom: Dylan, why don’t you answer the door and I will help Yasmin find a dress

Dylan: Alright — gooood luck

Me: Ouuuut

At the dance in the school gym…

ME Alicia Stacie Vikki Nikki

Eric Dylan Ethan Kenny

*When I arrived at the dance and scanned to room for my friends but most importantly — Eric. Just my luck I see him dancing with “STUDY” hall girl. Alicia comes up from behind me scaring me…*

Alicia: Girl you look fly

Me: Now I know that’s a good thing. You look fly too

Alicia: Why thank you, girly. Hey uh Eric at 3 o’clock lookin your way

Me: *I glance at him quickly then turn back to Alicia*

Alicia: OH and he’s on his way over

Me: Oh god! Is the weird girl with him?

Alicia: No he’s coming solo

Me: Still makes me nervous. How does my hair look?

Alicia: Just shake your head to make it look kinda messy but cute

Me: *I shake my hair & give her an awkward look*

Alicia: YES

Me: If you say so…

Eric: Hi ladies

Alicia: Oh hi Eric, looking sharp

Eric: Thanks, Alicia

Me: *I stare at him but can’t form words out of my mouth*

Alicia: Hey uh, I’m going to go get a drink *elbows me*

Eric: *looks me up & down* You look really nice, Yas

Me: Uh thanks. So do you. You’ve never looked fancier

Eric: *chuckles at me*

Me: *I feel embarrassed by my nerves*

Study Hall Girl: Eric *walks over to us* Can we dance again?

Eric: Uh yeah sure, Dana

Me: Dana? Hi. I’m Yasmin

Dana: *gives me a snotty look* Hello. Nice dress

Me: Thanks. Yours too *I say wondering where the other half of it is because of its short length*

Eric: See ya *he gives me a sad look*

Me: *I give him the same look*

Alicia: *walks over with her drink after they go to the dance floor* So what’d I miss?

Me: Well, “Study Hall Girl” has a name. Dana. Dana

Alicia: *take sa sip of her punch* Pfft, what kind of name is that

Me: The studying kind I guess

Alicia: You want a drink?

Me: *I sigh* Hit me

Alicia: Oh uh you may want a raincheck on that drink *nods to her right*

Me: *I look over and see Eric & I cover my mouth startled*

Eric: Sorry, I scared ya

Me: Jeeze *I push his shoulder playfully*

Eric: Hey, easy. Be gentle with me

Me: *I laugh & realize he’s giving me a long look* What’cha doin’?

Eric: Well uh…I was dancing with Dana and uh…I think I made a mistake

Me: What do you mean?

Eric: I think I took the wrong girl to the dance

Me: Am I the right girl?

Eric: *smiles at me shyly & holds out his hand* Dance with me?

*I take his hand and we dance together for a bit in silence*

Eric: So how long have you been crushing on me? *pulls me closer on the waist*

Me: *I wrap my arms around his neck* ME? Oh I think that’s you mister

Eric: Oh really?

Me: I think the feelings pretty mutual actually

Eric: But we just…never told each other

Me: Mm hmm

Eric: I really didn’t want to dance with that Dana girl. I’ve always really liked you Yas. I know this is all new but I really want us to —

*I stand on my toes and kiss him on the lips. Eric puckers his lips still after I pull away from the kiss…*

Me: I’ve never seen you so nervous before. Mr. Chatty

Eric: Shut up *gives me a cute smirk*

Monday: At School…

*I’m putting my books away when Eric sneaks up behind me & surprises me & tickles my sides…*

Me: Oh you jerk!

Eric: *laughs then kisses me* Hey, you wanna go out tonight?

Me: On a Monday night?

Eric: Yeah sure, why not?

Me: Seems like not a typical date night for Eric

Eric: Yeah well you’re different than all those other girls. You’re special

Me: Well, say no more! I’m sold *I kiss his cheek*

Lunch…

*At our lunch table…*

Dylan: Okay whoever is doing footsies knock it off!

*Eric & I giggle…*

Nikki: I can’t footsies in these shoes. No way

Alicia: *rolls her eyes*

Stacie: Footsies is fun

Dylan: Not if it hurts *turns to look at Eric & I*

Me: Hey, don’t hate

Dylan: I’m not hatin’

Me: Little bit

Dylan: *sticks his tongue out at me*

On my date with Eric…

*Eric brought a blanket for us to sit on the grass & look up at the stars in my backyard. We lay on our backs & hold hands…*

Eric: How am I doing so far?

Me: Well, not too cheesy. Yet

Eric: Sweet

Me: *I laugh*

Eric: You have the best laugh

Me: Oh, you mean like not fake?

Eric: Exactly that. I’ve had many “fangirls”. Never had a girl like you

Me: You mean calm?

Eric: Yeah if that’s the word you’re thinking of

Me: Hey. Let’s try more calm

Eric: *looks to the side at me* Sure

Me: *I snuggle up to him while we look at the starry sky*

♡ The End ♡

--

--